Guest Posts

Guest Post : Dead End Deal by Allen Wyler

New Medical Thriller Based

On Possible Cure for Alzheimer’s

 

DeadEndDealDead End Deal is a medical thriller of the highest order, reviving the genre with a splendid mixture of innovation and cutting edge timeliness.  Neurosurgeon Allen Wyler knows of what he speaks, and writes, and the result is a thriller that equals and updates the best of Robin Cook and Michael Crichton.”

–Jon Land, bestselling author of Strong at the Break

 

“The suspense builds and builds in this riveting page-turner.  It’s a skillful merging of the medical thriller and political thriller…Tom Clancy meets Tess Gerritsen!”

–Kevin O’Brien, NY Times Bestselling Author of The Last Victim and Killing Spree

 

 

Astor + Blue Editions is proud to present, Dead End Deal [ISBN: 978-938231-14-8 (paperback); Fiction Thriller; US $12.95, CAN $13.95; 334 pages; Pub Date: January, 2013 (paperback)], the first of a series of stand-alone medical thrillers to be published by Allen Wyler.  In the tradition of Robin Cook, Wyler weaves a fast paced action suspense plot centered on cutting edge medical techniques.  In this case: A true to life, plausible cure for Alzheimer’s Disease.

World renowned neurosurgeon Jon Ritter is on the verge of a medical breakthrough that will change the world.  His groundbreaking surgical treatment, using transplanted non-human stem cells, is set to eradicate the scourge of Alzheimer’s disease and give hope to millions.  But a radical anti-abortion group resorts to violence to stop it.  Faced with a dangerous reality but determined to succeed, Ritter turns to his long-time colleague, corporate biotech CEO Richard Stillman, for help.  Together, they conspire to conduct a clandestine clinical trial in Seoul, Korea.  But the danger is more determined, and more lethal, than Ritter could have imagined.

After successful surgical trials, Ritter and his allies are thrown into a horrifying nightmare scenario:  The trial patients have been murdered and Ritter is the number one suspect. Aided by his beautiful lab assistant, Yeonhee, Ritter flees the country, now the target of an international manhunt involving Interpol, the FBI, zealous fanatics and a coldly efficient assassin named Feist.

Dead End Deal is a fast paced, heart-pounding, and sophisticated thriller. Penned by master neurosurgeon, Allen Wyler—who often draws from experience, actual events and hot-button issues when writing—Dead End Deal is unmatched as a technical procedural. And yet, the technical expertise is seamlessly woven into a riveting plot, with enough action and surprises to engross even the most well-read thriller enthusiast.  A smart, unique, page-turner, Dead End Deal delivers.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Allen Wyler is a renowned neurosurgeon who earned an international reputation for pioneering surgical techniques to record brain activity.  He has served on the faculties of both the University of Washington and the University of Tennessee, and in 1992 was recruited by the prestigious Swedish Medical Center to develop a neuroscience institute.

In 2002, he left active practice to become Medical Director for a startup med-tech company (that went public in 2006) and he now chairs the Institutional Review Board of a major medical center in the Pacific Northwest.

Leveraging a love for thrillers since the early 70’s, Wyler devoted himself to fiction writing in earnest, eventually serving as Vice President of the International Thriller Writers organization for several years. After publishing his first two medical thrillers Deadly Errors (2005) and Dead Head (2007), he officially retired from medicine to devote himself to writing full time.

He and his wife, Lily, divide their time between Seattle and the San Juan Islands.

www.allenwyler.com

Amazon : http://amzn.to/ZgcaIm

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1vTW83S

Astor + Blue : http://bit.ly/1tG0zKX

Thank you for reading 🙂

Book Reviews by me

Reading

IMG_0904.JPG

Never have I read a 400+ pages book in a day.. This is just awesome piece of work.. intense, real and gripping tale..

I just can’t wait to see if one of the two missing girls (Piper and Tash) goes home for Christmas after being taken..

Have you read this book???

Don’t miss it..

Book Reviews by me

Kill me once

Well Readers,

I am finally done reading “kill me once” by Jon Osborne. i kind of had mixed feelings or Opinion is rather more profound and apt about the book..

Definitely a page-turner and will sure keep you on your toes.. Yet, the ending was very precise and predictable.. If you have read my earlier post on this book, you can relate to it.. In about few pages we get to know the Serial killer Nathan Stiedowe’s motive behind the killings and how he copies the previous notorious serial killers profiles and doings.. I did feel sorry for him for his dark past.. Nevertheless, its no point of going ahead and killing innocent people..

The FBI agent Dana Whitstone having lost her parents at the age of 4 has seen the killer and his piercing eyes when he brutally kills her parents..
It is about how close she is with the killer.. Does the killer know her too well or do they both think alike????

Although I didn’t want to continue reading because of the brutality in the way Nathan does his job, I couldn’t resist and finally I read it..

Have you read this book??

would love to know what you think..

Random thoughts

OMG

Holy crap.. I am reading “kill me once” by Jon Osborne..

Never read anything so brutal.. simply chilling.. I had plans to just quit reading this stuff.. Nevertheless, I am eager to know how it all ends..

Have you read this???

My Den

Inside the mind of a writer – II

Image

“Do you actually write what you read?” 
“Has this ever crossed your mind?” I am a lover of mystery, crime, thriller subjects although I have great love for classics and children’s books; Now, there’s no scope for Poetry to budge into my life of multi-genres. 

We stand close to the edge but only some of us risk and try. Until we do, we never know where we fit in; Some of us might be reading and writing the same genre; While the rest of us could be exceptionally subjective and entirely reflect the opposite; 

In my notion, reader in every writer doesn’t necessarily be the writer of every book or genre he or she reads;