My conversation with Pritam Banerjee

10451022_694879360566057_7965710681499240284_n

Tell us a little more about yourself?
Well I am Pritam Banerjee, born and brought up in Kolkata, West Bengal, India and did my schooling from National Gems Higher Secondary School (Kolkata). Currently I am in 3rd year studying BTECH in Aeronautical Engineering. Other than that I am a musician, scriptwriter, cricketer and a quizzard. I am a film buff, a pet lover, especially dogs. Listening to music and reading novels are my favorite free time work.

Quickly, tell us about your upcoming releases?
Well I am currently working on my next novel. Let’s see when can I finish it and release it

Do you have any specific inspiring incident that turned you out as an author?
No incident as such but I was reading the novel ‘Oh yes I’m Single and so is my Girlfriend’ by Durjoy Datta. Suddenly some part of that novel inspired me to write ‘I, Me & Her, Forever’. So I would like to thank Durjoy Datta and his book for inspiring me so much

Who designed your cover art? How did you choose the image?
In every other love story book I find that the cover design contains a picture of a couple or a love sign or maybe a rose. So I wanted my cover design to be completely different from others. The thought of putting up nature’s picture then struck my mind. Well nature also resembles love if we think in the other way round. So I got the picture from a friend of mine and then my publisher helped me in designing the cover

Do you outline your work before you write?
Yes obviously. That’s an important part of writing a novel. You need to collect ideas, jot them down, arrange them in sequences and then proceed with it

How do you like spending your leisure hours?
By reading novels, listening to music and playing mobile games.

Which genre is far more appealing to you as a reader?
Well as a reader you should read books of every genre. It helps you gain knowledge and you can even relate yourself to the novel. I started with reading love stories first then shifted to other forms. But as a reader I find intellectual books of Paulo Coelho and inspirational books of Robin Sharma very very convincing and it appeals to me a lot. There are a lot of things to learn from those novels

What inspires you to write? Is there any level of similarity with the events or characters in your book and in reality?
I prefer collecting ideas from real life incidents. I think an author must try to write something which appeals to a maximum number of people. Even I try to do that. So my inspiration comes from several authors and reading their books. Yah it is. The character Abhishek resembles me in many ways. Not only Abhishek. Each and every character of the book resembles a character in reality. The entire story is a true story and the incidents have been collected from real life. I don’t want to disclose anything more here. I would like to keep my mouth shut. One message for everyone “Read my book”. You’ll get to know more.

Which is your current read?

Well actually I am reading 5 books altogether right now (laughs). I know it’s strange but I love to do like that. I read it every day by rotating one or the other book. Those are Inferno by Dan Brown, The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri, One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marques (I love reading this book over and over again. This book has been a tremendous source of inspiration for me), Rozabal Line by Ashwin Sanghi and Adultery by Paulo Coelho.

What, in your opinion is the toughest part while carving your book?

Apart from thinking about the title of the novel nothing was easy, be it setting up the plot of the novel, getting the ideas together, using good words and good English, writing the entire novel or the publishing procedure, the entire journey has been a hard one for me. See I am not someone who is doing a course on literature or I am not that kind of a student who used to get the highest marks in English in school. I used to get average marks always. Be it in English grammar or sentence construction or fluently speaking in English I was not that appropriate. So I feel use of good English words and writing proper English is the hardest thing about writing

Share a word of advice with our readers and authors, if any?
Read more. The more you read, the more you learn and the more you learn the more you gain knowledge. You can develop a good and unique style of writing a novel, different and varied sorts of ideas will automatically develop and ultimately you’ll be able to enrich yourself by that.

Share one of your favorites from your music band collection, if any?

Though I am a musician myself yet I don’t listen to band songs. I prefer Indian classical music

If you’re a foodie, tell us about your favorite dish?
Yes I am a foodie. And there are lots of favorite dishes of mine. But if you tell me to name one I would say Mixed fried rice and Shanghai Chicken

List any giveaways or surprises in mere future?
Hold on hold on. Have patience. You will get to know everything will time (smiles)

Where can we find your books?
http://www.infibeam.com/Books/i-me-her-forever-pritam-banerjee/9789382303350.html#variantId=P-M-B-9789382303350 (for sale in India only)
(ebook)- http://www.amazon.com/Me-Her-Forever-Pritam-Banerjee-ebook/dp/B00JLDQZG0/ref=sr_1_7?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1398463598&sr=1-7&keywords=Smriti+Publisher
(ebook)-  http://www.swiftboox.com/ebooks/romance/i-me-and-her-forever.html

We would love to reach out to you, please share your social media active platform
Facebook- http://www.facebook.com/pritambanerjeefanpage
Twitter- banerjee@1993
WeChat – iampritam1993

Hope you enjoyed reading the conversation 🙂

18 thoughts on “My conversation with Pritam Banerjee

Love to hear from you :)

