My conversation with Author Susan Joyner Stumpf

Best OneTell us a little more about yourself?

I graduated from High school, went two years to college.  I was adopted at the age of three after having lived in an orphanage for two years.  Biological father died in the Korean War, and my biological mother raised me for two years before putting me into the orphanage, in which she died so young six months later.  I went through five foster homes before being adopted by the Joyner family.  I grew up in an abused home; I was sexually abused by my foster father, and my foster brother (he was adopted as well and not my real brother) used to try to kill me, and beat me severely.  So I grew up sexually, physically, emotionally and mentally abused.  So I began writing at an early age to escape the trauma.  I’ve been writing since the age of eight.  So it started off as an escape mechanism, but as I grew up, and won every Creative Writing Contest I entered, it seemed apparent that I was born to write, for it then became a life-long passion, and I haven’t stopped yet and we’re looking at a writing career that spans over forty years.

Quickly, tell us about your upcoming releases?

My 12th book, PUNCTURE BEYOND EMERALD, is soon to be released September-October, 2014.A work in progress is a horror Novel called LOVE YOU TO PIECES, I just can’t seem to settle down and get it done.  I’ve written six poetry books since starting that darn novel, LOL.

Do you have any specific inspiring incident that turned you out as an author?

Yes, the childhood abuse I suffered definitely was a defining moment for me as far as my writing career was concerned; it was the opening door, so to speak.  The escape mechanism part of it turned into a passion for writing.  I have never stopped all these years.

Who designed your cover art? How did you choose the image?

I’m my own Graphics Artist.  Though for fun I have had two other people from the past do three book covers, but the other nine books I’ve done myself.  I have an array of images at my disposal, as any Graphic Artist has, and I go through my archives for inspiration.

Do you outline your work before you write?

No.

How do you like spending your leisure hours?

My leisure hours are spent with my horses, dogs, cats and husband, not necessarily in that order, LOL.

Which genre is far more appealing to you as a reader?

Since I also write thriller-horror, I would have to say horror is my favourite genre.  I’m considered a Dark Poet; my short stories and Novels are also dark, horror-ingrained.

What inspires you to write? Is there any level of similarity with the events or characters in your book and in reality?

I get inspired to write by reading other writers, especially other Poets that appeal to me.  I write both from a fiction and non-fiction point of view and oftentimes I intermingle the two.  It’s not unusual, for instance, for one of my stories or poems to contain true events but then to sugar coat that story or poem with some imagination.

Which is your current read?

I’m currently reading an Anthology called DOG MUSIC, in which all the collected poems from a myriad of different authors is about dogs.  I love it, since I love animals myself and have four dogs.

What, in your opinion is the toughest part while carving your book?

Staying in focus, in character, so to speak.  For instance, in a short story or novel, maintaining that character throughout the work.  In a poem it’s not as critical, but in a storyline it is.  Character consistency, I call it.

Share a word of advice with our readers and authors, if any?

My advice to other writers is never to give up.  There are going to be people to tell you you’re no good.  Now this could be because they’re either jealous or truly feel you’re no good.  So I highly recommend you write for yourself and for the love of it, not for anyone else, or you will be disappointed.  Also, try to write a little bit every day to keep the engine oiled, so to speak.  Hone in on your craft, you only get better with practice, that’s like with anything else.  Write for the simple joy and love of it.  Believe in yourself, and others will follow, I promise.

Share one of your favorites from your music band collection, if any?

You mean who I like musically?  I grew up on classic Rock and Roll, so it would have to be The Beatles, The Bee Gees, bands like that.  Pink Floyd, the Moody Blues.  I love John Lennon’s Across the Universe.

If you’re a foodie, tell us about your favorite dish?

I am not a foodie, but I do love Pasta Primavera.

 

List any giveaways or surprises in mere future?

I have a new friend who makes jewelry from graphics, I may sell my books with a necklace and bookmark of the cover.  Cool, right?

 

Where can we find your books?

Some of my books are available on Amazon.com, here, http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=Susan%20Joyner-Stumpf

 

Some of my books on Lulu.com http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?type=Print+Products&keyWords=Susan+Joyner-Stumpf&sitesearch=lulu.com&q=&x=18&y=13

We would love to reach out to you, please share your social media active platform

BLOG LINKS:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1456245.Susan_Joyner_Stumpf

https://plus.google.com/u/0/114330760803931668212/posts?cfem=1

https://twitter.com/sonnetwolf

https://susanjoynerstumpf.wordpress.com/wp-admin/edit.php

Thank you for hosting 🙂

Love to hear from you :)

