My Conversation with Author Stan Yocum

                                                                            Stan Yocum

                                                                     Unrelenting Nightmare

YocumHEADSHOT Tell us a little more about yourself?

My life has gone through major shifts in right-brain (creative) /left-brain (logical) influences. As a young boy and through high school I was an artist. When I entered college I wanted to be an architect, but changed majors after two years to Theatre Arts. I graduated and tried acting in the entertainment industry. A few years later, I went back to college and secured a second degree in Accounting, accepting a position with Price Waterhouse where I acquired my CPA license. I left PriceWaterhouse and formed a consulting firm that designed and installed executive information systems,and also helped turn around companies that were in financial distress. In 2000, I returned to the right-brain influence and started writing suspense novels about the darker side of corporate America.

Quickly, tell us about your upcoming releases?

I presently have two novels published: Unrelenting Nightmare and The Price of Admission. The next two novels I plan to publish are Hostile Takeover and Corporate Spy, both of which also take place in the business world.

Do you have any specific inspiring incident that turned you out as an author?

The idea of being an author first came to me in high school, but I didn’t really write anything worthwhile. When I got to college, I wrote a few one-act plays. I also wrote business articles during my business career. In 1992, I wrote a children’s book, and that’s when I decided I wanted to write a novel. My ultimate inspiration came from my experiences and the people I met while in business. Myimagination started putting bits and pieces of my business career together,which resulted in ideas of what I could write about.

Who designed your cover art? How did you choose the image?

I designed the basic content of the artwork — the image of the sighting scope, the figure, and the basic colors. The iUniverse art team added the mountains and sun in the background.

Do you outline your work before you write?

I create a complete storyline, chapter by chapter of the entire book. The plot is entirely laid out in advance, as are the characters. Then I start writing. I admit I often add new chapters, and new characters from time-to-time, but I never leave the context of the storyline.

How do you like spending your leisure hours?

I train and raise assistance dogs for Canine Companions for Independence. The dogs help individuals with disabilities. I also ride bicycles (I used to race, but now I do it for only exercise), play golf, travel, and spend time with my family, and my best friend, Tawny; one of the dogs I trained that decided she wanted to stay with us (her original pack) rather than become an assistance dog for someone else.

Which genre is far more appealing to you as a reader?

The majority of novels I read are suspense. But I also enjoy fantasy — Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter,for example, and hope to write a fantasy novel someday.

What inspires you to write? Is there any level of similarity with the events or characters in your book and in reality?

My inspiration to write comes strictly from my desire to do so. I create my stories, and the characters in them, from real lifesituations. I have no super heroes, or plots that are beyond reality.

Which is your current read?

I am currently reading Innocence by Dean Koontz.

What, in your opinion is the toughest part while carving your book?

Making sure that the story moves along, keeps the reader interested, and that all scenes advance the plot. I give brief detail in describing the physicalcharacteristics of a character, but try not to get too descriptive. I leave thatto the reader’s imagination.

Share a word of advice with our readers and authors, if any?

If you have ever wanted to write a book, then by all meansdo it. Let you imagination go wild and put on paper what your mind comes up with. Who knows, it might be interesting and something that other people will want to read.

Share one of your favorites from your music band collection, if any?

I listen mostly to classical music and have too many favorites to mention.

If you’re a foodie, tell us about your favorite dish?

My tastes are fairly basic. If it tastes good, I like it.

List any giveaways or surprises in mere future?

I’m doing two book-signing events in September where I will be giving away free copies of my book Unrelenting Nightmare. One is in San Diego at the AARP Ideas @50+ on Sept. 5, the other in Toronto, Canada at the Word on the Street Festival on Sept. 21. I will have information onlocation and book-signing site of each event on my website.

Where can we find your books?

The best place is Amazon. Book retailers like Barnes & Noble can also order the book.

We would love to reach out to you, please share your social media active platform

Website: http://www.StanYocum.com

Facebook: Author Stan Yocum

Twitter: StanYocum

Thank you for this wonderful conversation 🙂

Love to hear from you :)

